Username:    Password:   
center-left.png center-right.png
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
blank.gif blank.gif
Navigation
blank.gif blank.gif
Premium Site Content

Wondering where all of the other good stuff has gone?

Premium content such as Event Calendar, Player Stats and Rankings, Tables & Results, Photo Gallery, Result Submission, League Videoprinter, Forums, Games Arcade, Member Polls, Downloads and other goodies are now visible only to our Registered Users!

However, registration is completely free, and takes a matter of seconds!

So, click HERE to register now!
blank.gif blank.gif
iCueSport
Deano Dog Koopa
blank.gif blank.gif
Code of Conduct

blank.gif blank.gif
Result Submission


League Result
Tournament Result
Team Cup Result
Handicap Submission

blank.gif blank.gif
LeagueAppLive
blank.gif blank.gif
Follow us on Twitter

blank.gif blank.gif
Random photo
Steve Woolford receiving a Trophy.
Steve Woolford receiving a Trophy.
MKCSL Presentation Evening 2002
blank.gif blank.gif
Users Online
bullet.gif Guests Online: 1

bullet.gif Members Online: 0

bullet.gif Total Members: 204
bullet.gif Newest Member: astroandyuk
blank.gif blank.gif
Last Seen Users
tezza 6 days
Adrian Ridgway 1 week
winnett01 3 weeks
PineappleChunk 8 weeks
astroandyuk10 weeks
markdahammer13 weeks
swoolford14 weeks
whatafcukinl...14 weeks
jonmarlow15 weeks
Ron Beckley15 weeks
Pete14716 weeks
tswinden19 weeks
NickB19 weeks
stoneybhoy21 weeks
Dog22 weeks
roger decoteau23 weeks
Koopa23 weeks
smudge4124 weeks
Herald25 weeks
C hill26 weeks
Bantam26 weeks
mickmichael27 weeks
James Mason27 weeks
ela29 weeks
Weskelly30 weeks
blank.gif blank.gif
FAQ: General
FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) >General
A player called a foul because another player didn't nominate a ball, but they insisted no nomination was required. Who is correct and what is the correct interpretation of nominating a ball?I was playing in a tournament/league match the other day and the opponent I was playing refused/insisted on playing the miss rule. I disagreed. Do we play it or not?My details (E.g. telephone, address etc) have changed, who do I notify?Ok so we are supposed to play the miss rule, how do we do that?
Where can I find a copy of the rules of the Milton Keynes City Snooker League?
A player called a foul because another player didn't nominate a ball, but they insisted no nomination was required. Who is correct and what is the correct interpretation of nominating a ball?
In a nutshell:

* A player is NOT required to verbally declare a ball on at any time, even when snookered!
* It is common sense for a player to verbally declare a ball on when snookered.
* It is common sense for a player to verbally declare a ball on when aiming at a ball on where the cue ball will come in to close proximity to other balls.
* It is NOT automatically a foul when a player does NOT verbally declare either a ball on, or a free ball.
* If the referee, or opponent when no referee, is not sure of which ball is being nominated then they must ask the player to verbally declare the intended nominated ball.

The rules that cover this scenario are as follows:

SECTION 2. DEFINITIONS

* 12. Nominated Ball
(a) A nominated ball is the object ball which the striker declares, or indicates to the satisfaction of the referee, he undertakes to hit with the first impact of the cue-ball.
(b) If requested by the referee, the striker must declare which ball he is on.
* 13. Free Ball
A free ball is a ball which the striker nominates as the ball on when snookered after a foul (see Section 3 Rule 10).

Let me explain:

Striker declares, or indicates to the satisfaction of the referee: Unfortunately the rule doesn't state what is deemed to be acceptable/unacceptable declaration or indication of a nominated ball, so this is open to interpretation. However it is generally accepted that the striker has nominated a ball by addressing the shot. I.e. the referee can see which ball the striker is attempting to hit and accepts that as the strikers nomination. No verbal declaration is required.

If requested by the referee, the striker must declare which ball he is on: This is there so if a striker does not verbally declare a nominated ball, and it is not indicated clearly because the striker addressing the nominated ball could be aiming for more than 1 ball, the referee must request the striker to nominate by asking the striker to verbally nominate, such as 'please nominate'. The striker must then verbally declare.

So overall, the referee accepts nomination by indication of a nominated ball by the striker, i.e. aiming towards the nominated ball. If the referee (or opponents in the case of no referee) are unclear as to which ball is being nominated, then they must state 'please nominate' before the striker takes their shot. If they do not nominate, and the referee thinks the ball hit was not the nominated ball, then it is up to the referee whether to call a foul. It may still not be a foul though, as the referee may decide the shot was valid, for example the player missing one colour by a fraction and potting another getting perfect position would be pretty obvious that the player intended the ball they aimed at.

For a full read of the rules of snooker and the various definitions please see the full rules of snooker on the world snooker web site.
Top
I was playing in a tournament/league match the other day and the opponent I was playing refused/insisted on playing the miss rule. I disagreed. Do we play it or not?
The miss rule is part of the rules of snooker as set by World Snooker and is played IN ALL FRAMES of snooker in the Milton Keynes City Snooker League, be it a tournament or a league game. This applies to ALL players and ALL divisions. No exceptions. If you don't like it, agree with the opposition BEFORE you play your match to not play the miss rule. If your opponent wants to play the miss rule, YOU HAVE TO PLAY IT!
The confusion about this rule stems from the fact that the rule was introduced in 1995 and players always think it was introduced for the professional game only, which is incorrect. The rule can also be difficult to interpret for some players. See below for some 'general' guidelines on this miss rule.
Please see the Foul and a Miss guidelines for further information.
Top
My details (E.g. telephone, address etc) have changed, who do I notify?
Please inform the Fixtures Secretary, Tournament Secretary and Web Designer of any personal details that have changed.
Top
Ok so we are supposed to play the miss rule, how do we do that?
#
This one is open to interpretation of the rule, but there are some unwritten guidelines that tend to be used in the MKCSL amongst the qualified referees. You must remember that these are dependent on the ability of the player, and may not apply.

*
Please note that if either player requires snookers either before, or as a result of the shot played, and the referee is satisfied that the miss was not intentional, then a miss can not be called.

*
If a player can hit ANY part of a ball on directly and fails to make contact, then this is a 100% miss all of the time, regardless of the players ability. This means ANY part of the ball on, not full ball or centre ball. E.g. A fag paper's width of the ball on can be hit, its a miss every time if the ball on is not hit.
*
If a player can hit a ball on centre ball* and fails to hit a ball on then this is a 100% miss every time, regardless of ability. After 2 of these types of misses, the player must be warned that if they fail to hit a ball on they will concede the frame. If they then fail to make contact with a ball on, they concede the frame. A player in this situation does not automatically concede the frame unless they have been pre-warned by the referee (opponent if no referee).
*
If a player is snookered and can make a 1 cushion escape to hit the ball on, then this will generally be considered to be a miss if they fail to make contact with the ball on. However this depends on the difficulty of the shot, balls in the way etc.
*
If a player is snookered and hits the snookering ball, then this is generally considered a miss, again depending on the difficulty of the shot.
*
If a player attempts a swerve when there is a 1 cushion escape and misses the ball on, then this is a miss. If they are good enough to judge a swerve shot, they are good enough to judge a 1 cushion escape!
*
If a player is snookered on multiple object balls (e.g. lots of reds or multiple colours) and the player elects to play a more difficult shot opposed to an easier one, so that they get the cue ball safe, then this would be a miss. The reasoning is that if they think they are good enough to attempt the difficult shot, then they are good enough that they could of made the easier shot.
*
* Please note that centre ball means you can hit the ball in the centre, it is not the same as full ball which means you can hit any part of the ball on. A full ball is used for example in a free ball situation.
*
Please see the Foul and a Miss guidelines for further information.

Top
Where can I find a copy of the rules of the Milton Keynes City Snooker League?
All the rules that govern the Milton Keynes City Snooker League are contained in the Constitution. Most of your questions can be answered by reading this.
Top
purple-btm-left.png purple-btm-right.png
Follow us on Facebook
blank.gif blank.gif
Follow us on Facebook

Help this site and the network
grow by following all the
MKCSL and iCueSport news:

blank.gif blank.gif
iCueSport Web Shop


Discount Supplies

blank.gif blank.gif
Google Search
blank.gif blank.gif
Cue Wizard


Custom build a new cue to your own design

blank.gif blank.gif
centerb-left.png centerb-right.png
center-left.png center-right.png
centerb-left.png centerb-right.png